Nursing Program

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Degree Options

 

Please note that effective with Fall 2015 the Nursing Curriculum has changed.

Curriculum No. 258 is being replaced with Curriculum No. 366.

Official Curriculum Guides are currently being printed, however, please follow the below link for our New Nursing Program of Study for Curriculum No. 366 (effective Fall 2015) **NEW**

Curriculum No. 366 Nursing Program of Study Effective FA15

 

Program Information

The Nursing Program at Kishwaukee College is regulated by guidelines established by the Illinois Nursing and Advanced Practice Nursing Act and the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulations.

What began as a Licensed Practical Nursing (LPN) program in 1970, evolved into a fully accredited Associate degree program leading to Registered Nurse licensure in 1975. Each year, Kishwaukee accepts 80 (40 per semester) students into its Nursing program. After two years of theoretical and clinical coursework in both general and specialty areas in Nursing, the student graduates with an Associate in Applied Science degree and is eligible to sit for licensure examination.

Kishwaukee's Nursing Program has one of the highest overall NCLEX-RN (State Board Examination) pass rates in Illinois and in the country. Kishwaukee's overall average is 95% compared with a state average of 86% and a national average of 85%.

The Nursing Program has an excellent curriculum and a stable and theoretically diverse nursing faculty. Kishwaukee Nursing graduates are highly regarded throughout the region.


Please note regarding the LPN Ladder Program:

The LPN Ladder Component of the ADN Nursing Program is currently not being offered. The Ladder Program will end on May 16, 2015.

 

NURSING PROGRAM TUITION INFORMATION:

A variable tuition rate of $119 per credit hour in addition to the standard tuition rate, will be applied to all nursing courses in the ADN/LPN programs for students admitted as of Fall 2013. All ADN/LPN nursing courses will be subject to variable tuition effective January 2015.

Students enrolled in the ADN/LPN program prior to Fall 2013 will remain at standard tuition rates until January 2015.

Additional Resources

 

Contact Information

Kelly Soost
Coordinator of Nursing, Instructor
Office: B1224
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 2540
Email: kelly.soost@kishwaukeecollege.edu

June Callahan
Instructor
Office: B1231
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 3620
Email: june.callahan@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Heather Heilman
Nursing Lab Coordinator
Office: B1212
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 3555
Email: heather.heilman@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Susan Hudson
Instructor
Office: B1232
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 5050
Email: susan.hudson@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Christine Makosh
Instructor
Office: B1235
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 3440
Email: christine.makosh@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Patricia Mitchell
Instructor
Office: B1237
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 2550
Email: patricia.mitchell@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Janis Ormond
Instructor
Office: B1228
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 3090
Email: janis.ormond@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Kathy Schnier
Instructor
Office: B1230
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 3630
Email: kathy.schnier@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Kay Singer
Instructor
Office: B1211
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 3921
Email: kay.singer@kishwaukeecollege.edu

 

Twitter Facebook Youtube Foursquare

Supporting our Veterans